Embark on a Mythological Quest: The Percy Jackson Books in Order


Percy Jackson Books, Calling all heroes! Are you ready to dive into a world where Greek gods walk the earth disguised as CEOs, and mythological creatures lurk in the shadows? Then the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan is your perfect adventure. This popular series has captivated readers of all ages with its blend of humor, action, and classic mythology. But with two main series and several companion books, navigating the reading order can be a challenge. Worry not, brave adventurer, for this guide will equip you with all the knowledge you need to embark on your own Percy Jackson odyssey!

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Core Adventure

The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series is the heart and soul of the Riordanverse. It follows the thrilling adventures of Percy Jackson, a twelve-year-old who discovers he’s the son of Poseidon, the Greek god of the sea. Thrust into a world of mythical creatures and Olympian politics, Percy must learn to control his newfound powers and fight alongside his demigod friends, Annabeth Chase (daughter of Athena) and Grover Underwood (a satyr). Their quests take them across the United States, facing legendary monsters and fulfilling epic prophecies.

Here’s the recommended reading order for the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series:

The Lightning Thief (2005): Accused of stealing Zeus’ lightning bolt, Percy embarks on a cross-country quest to retrieve it and prevent a war among the gods.

The Sea of Monsters (2006): Percy and his friends must rescue Grover’s satyr friend from the clutches of the monstrous Polyphemus, while also facing a new threat rising from the depths.

The Titan’s Curse (2007): In a race against time, Percy and his companions must rescue Artemis, the goddess of the hunt, and prevent the return of the evil Titan, Kronos.

The Battle of the Labyrinth (2008): Daedalus’ deadly Labyrinth threatens to unleash an army of monsters upon the world. Percy and his friends must find a way to navigate the maze and defeat the forces of evil.

The Last Olympian (2009): The fate of Olympus hangs in the balance as Kronos prepares for his final assault. Percy must gather his courage and unite the demigods to prevent the destruction of the world.

Percy Jackson Books

Recently Released Additions:

The story doesn’t end there! In 2023, Rick Riordan released a new addition to the series:

The Chalice of the Gods (2023): Years after defeating Kronos, Percy and his friends face a new threat: a prophecy foretells the awakening of an ancient evil.

Bonus Material:

The Demigod Files (2009): This collection of short stories provides additional insights into the characters and events of the series.

The Ultimate Guide (2010): This companion book delves deeper into the world of Greek mythology and the characters of the series.

The Heroes of Olympus: A New Generation Rises

Following the events of Percy Jackson and the Olympians, The Heroes of Olympus introduces a new generation of demigods. This series focuses on the children of the Roman gods, who share the same Greek counterparts but with different personalities and powers. Here’s the recommended reading order:

The Lost Hero (2010): Jason, Piper, and Leo find themselves with no memory at Camp Half-Blood. They must embark on a quest to find Hera, the missing queen of Olympus, and uncover the secrets of their past.

The Son of Neptune (2011): Percy Jackson awakens with no memory, stranded at Camp Jupiter, the Roman equivalent of Camp Half-Blood. He must join forces with Roman demigods to fulfill a prophecy and prevent a war.

The Mark of Athena (2012): The seven demigods from both camps unite to follow a mysterious prophecy that leads them to Rome.

The House of Hades (2013): Descending into the Underworld, Percy and Annabeth face challenges unlike any they’ve encountered before.

The Blood of Olympus (2014): The fate of the gods and mortals hangs in the balance as the seven demigods face the ultimate battle against the forces of Gaea, the primordial goddess of the Earth.


In what order should I read the Percy Jackson books?

The core Percy Jackson series, Percy Jackson & the Olympians, follows this order:

The Lightning Thief (2005)

The Sea of Monsters (2006)

The Titan’s Curse (2007)

The Battle of the Labyrinth (2008)

The Last Olympian (2009)

Are there any new Percy Jackson books?

Yes! In 2023, Rick Riordan released The Chalice of the Gods, which picks up after the original series. There’s also a sequel planned, Wrath of the Triple Goddess.

Is there another series connected to Percy Jackson?

Absolutely! The Heroes of Olympus series follows a new generation of demigods. However, it’s recommended to read the Percy Jackson series first, as they tie together. Here’s the order for Heroes of Olympus:

The Lost Hero (2010)

The Son of Neptune (2011)

The Mark of Athena (2012)

The House of Hades (2013)

The Blood of Olympus (2014)

Are there any graphic novels?

There are graphic novel adaptations of all the Percy Jackson & the Olympians books, making it a great way to experience the story in a different format.

What age group are these books for?

The Percy Jackson series is generally considered middle grade fiction, suitable for readers aged 8-12. However, teens and adults also enjoy the action-packed stories and humor.

What if I want to learn more about Greek mythology?

Rick Riordan has two companion books to the series: Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods and Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes. These are a fun and informative way to explore the myths behind the characters you meet in the books.

Where can I find these books?

You can find the Percy Jackson books at most bookstores and online retailers. They’re also available in libraries and audiobook formats.

Is there a Percy Jackson movie?

There are actually two movies based on the series: Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief (2010) and Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters (2013). While they have some differences from the books, they can be a fun introduction to the world.

Is there a Percy Jackson TV show?

Yes! A Percy Jackson TV series is currently in development for Disney+.

I finished the Percy Jackson books. What else can I read?

Rick Riordan has written several other fantasy series based on mythologies like Egyptian (The Kane Chronicles) and Norse (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard). You might also enjoy other middle-grade fantasy adventures like the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer or the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.

To read more, Click here

About the author


Add Comment

Get in touch

Content and images available on this website is supplied by contributors. As such we do not hold or accept liability for the content, views or references used. For any complaints please contact babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com. Use of this website signifies your agreement to our terms of use. We do our best to ensure that all information on the Website is accurate. If you find any inaccurate information on the Website please us know by sending an email to babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com and we will correct it, where we agree, as soon as practicable. We do not accept liability for any user-generated or user submitted content – if there are any copyright violations please notify us at babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com – any media used will be removed providing proof of content ownership can be provided. For any DMCA requests under the digital millennium copyright act Please contact: babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com with the subject DMCA Request.