Demigod Dilemmas: How Many Percy Jackson Books Are There?


For many readers, Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series was a gateway drug to the world of mythology and adventure. It follows the thrilling quests of Percy Jackson, a young demigod son of Poseidon, as he navigates the Greek gods’ world and his own demigod destiny. But with the ever-expanding Riordanverse, fans might wonder, “How many Percy Jackson books are there, exactly?”

The Original Heroes: Percy Jackson and the Olympians

The core series that started it all, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, boasts six books. Each one chronicles a new adventure for Percy and his friends, Grover Underwood, a satyr, and Annabeth Chase, daughter of Athena. Here’s a quick rundown of the series:

  1. The Lightning Thief (2005): In this debut novel, Percy discovers he’s a demigod and is accused of stealing Zeus’ lightning bolt. He embarks on a cross-country quest to retrieve it and prevent a war among the gods.
  2. The Sea of Monsters (2006): When the magical borders of Camp Half-Blood weaken, Percy and his friends must sail the treacherous Sea of Monsters to find the Golden Fleece, the only hope to save the camp.
  3. The Titan’s Curse (2007): Grover goes missing after discovering two powerful demigods with unknown parentage. Percy joins forces with the Hunters of Artemis to find him and stop the rising threat of the titan lord Kronos.
  4. The Battle of the Labyrinth (2008): Daedalus’ Labyrinth poses a deadly threat, allowing monsters to invade Camp Half-Blood. Percy and Annabeth must navigate its depths and uncover the secrets within.
  5. The Last Olympian (2009): The fate of Olympus hangs in the balance as Kronos’ army attacks. Percy must fulfill the prophecy and confront his destiny in an epic showdown.

A Bonus Adventure: The Chalice of the Gods (2023)

Sixteen years after the original series concluded, Rick Riordan surprised fans with a brand new Percy Jackson adventure โ€“ The Chalice of the Gods. This standalone novel features a slightly older Percy, now facing a new quest: recovering a stolen chalice that holds the power to heal the wounded gods.

Beyond Percy: The Riordanverse Expands

While Percy Jackson and the Olympians is the most popular series, it’s just the tip of the iceberg in Rick Riordan’s vast mythological universe, known as the Riordanverse. Here’s a glimpse into the other series that involve Percy Jackson, directly or indirectly:

  • The Heroes of Olympus (5 books): This series takes place a few years after Percy Jackson and the Olympians and introduces a new generation of demigods, including Roman demigods. Percy appears occasionally, offering guidance and support.
  • The Kane Chronicles (3 books): This series focuses on Egyptian mythology, following the adventures of Carter and Sadie Kane, descendants of a long line of pharaohs. While Percy doesn’t appear, there are references to the events of the Percy Jackson series, establishing a connection between the two mythologies in Riordan’s universe.
  • Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard (3 books): Norse mythology takes center stage in this series, following Magnus Chase, a homeless teenager who discovers he’s the son of a Norse god. Again, while Percy isn’t directly involved, the series confirms the existence of multiple pantheons within the Riordanverse.
  • Trials of Apollo (5 books): In this series, the arrogant Olympian god Apollo is punished by Zeus and forced to walk the earth as a mortal teenager. He seeks help from Percy Jackson and other characters to regain his godly form.

Finding the Right Order: Reading Guides for the Riordanverse

With so many series set in the same universe, readers might wonder where to begin and how the stories connect. There are two main ways to approach the Riordanverse:

  • Publication Order: This is the order in which the books were released. Starting with Percy Jackson and the Olympians provides a good introduction to the world and characters, and the later series build upon this foundation.
  • Chronological Order: This order arranges the books based on the timeline within the stories. The Heroes of Olympus series takes place alongside the later events of Percy Jackson’s and the Olympians. You can find detailed reading guides online that outline the chronological order for all the series in the Riordanverse.


Q. How many Percy Jackson books are there?

There are two ways to answer this, depending on whether you’re looking for the original series or the wider Percy Jackson universe:

  • Percy Jackson & the Olympians series: This is the original series that follows Percy Jackson’s adventures. There are currently 6 books in this series, including the recent addition of The Chalice of the Gods (2023).
  • The Percy Jackson universe: If you want to delve deeper into the world Rick Riordan created, there are a total of 17 books across five different series. This includes Percy Jackson & the Olympians, The Heroes of Olympus, The Kane Chronicles, Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, and Trials of Apollo.

Q. Is there a new Percy Jackson book coming out?

Yes! As mentioned earlier, The Chalice of the Gods was released in 2023 and is the sixth book in the original Percy Jackson & the Olympians series. There’s also Wrath of the Triple Goddess coming out in 2024, though it’s not part of the original series.

Q. What order should I read the Percy Jackson books?

There are two main ways to approach this:

  • Publication order: This is the order the books were released. It starts with Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, then moves on to The Heroes of Olympus, and so on.
  • Chronological order: This orders the books based on the timeline of the stories themselves. There are some minor crossovers between series, so this can be a fun way to experience the whole world. You can find a reading guide for chronological order online.

Q. I’ve read the Percy Jackson books, what else can I read in this world?

As mentioned before, there are four other series set in Rick Riordan’s mythological universe. You can jump into The Heroes of Olympus which follows the children of the Roman gods, or explore other mythologies with The Kane Chronicles (Egyptian), Magnus Chase (Norse), and Trials of Apollo (various).

To read more, Click here

About the author

Jyoti Kumari

Add Comment

Get in touch

Content and images available on this website is supplied by contributors. As such we do not hold or accept liability for the content, views or references used. For any complaints please contact Use of this website signifies your agreement to our terms of use. We do our best to ensure that all information on the Website is accurate. If you find any inaccurate information on the Website please us know by sending an email to and we will correct it, where we agree, as soon as practicable. We do not accept liability for any user-generated or user submitted content โ€“ if there are any copyright violations please notify us at โ€“ any media used will be removed providing proof of content ownership can be provided. For any DMCA requests under the digital millennium copyright act Please contact: with the subject DMCA Request.