Gearing Up for Battle: Exploring the Transformers Movie Order


The Transformers franchise, a sprawling universe of alien robots in disguise, has captivated audiences for decades. With an animated series, comics, and a blockbuster live-action film series, it’s easy to feel overwhelmed by the sheer amount of content. But fear not, for this guide will dissect the Transformers movie order, laying out the chronological and release order for your viewing pleasure.

Release Order: The Classic Experience

For those wanting to experience the Transformers movies as they were originally released, buckle up for some explosive action:

  1. Transformers (2007): This film, directed by Michael Bay, serves as the starting point. It introduces the war between the Autobots, led by Optimus Prime, and the Decepticons, led by Megatron, spilling over onto Earth. Teenager Sam Witwicky gets caught in the crossfire and befriends Bumblebee, an Autobot scout.
  2. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2009): Two years later, Sam and the Autobots face a renewed Decepticon threat. The Fallen, a powerful ancient Decepticon, seeks to enslave humanity. The film is known for its amped-up action sequences and complex plot threads.
  3. Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011): The Autobots and Decepticons’ battle extends to the moon, uncovering a hidden conspiracy involving the 1969 moon landing. This film delves deeper into the Transformers’ origins and their connection to human history.
  4. Transformers: Age of Extinction (2014): A new cast takes center stage as a group of Texas inventors stumbles upon a dormant Optimus Prime. Meanwhile, a rogue government agency hunts down Transformers, friend or foe. This film marks a shift in tone, focusing more on human characters and introducing new Transformer factions.
  5. Transformers: The Last Knight (2017): The war reaches a global scale, with Optimus Prime seemingly corrupted and Earth on the brink of destruction. Bumblebee and a new human cast must uncover the truth about the Transformers’ past on Earth and find a way to unite them against a common enemy.
  6. Bumblebee (2018): This prequel serves as a soft reboot, offering a more character-driven and lighthearted take on the franchise. Set in 1987, it follows Charlie, a teenager who befriends Bumblebee as he disguises himself as a Volkswagen Beetle on a California beach.
  7. Transformers: Rise of the Beasts (2023): The latest entry takes us back to 1994, featuring Optimus Prime and Bumblebee teaming up with a new cast of human characters, including archaeologists, to face a new Decepticon threat in Brooklyn and Peru.

Chronological Order: Unveiling the Transformers’ History

If you crave a narrative that follows the Transformers’ story in its entirety, here’s the chronological order:

  1. Bumblebee (2018): This prequel sets the stage, showcasing the Autobots’ arrival on Earth in the 1980s.
  2. Transformers: Rise of the Beasts (2023): The story continues in the 1990s, revealing more about the Transformers’ past on Earth.
  3. Transformers (2007): The war between the Autobots and Decepticons reaches Earth in the present day.
  4. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2009): The Decepticons return with a vengeance, two years after the initial conflict.
  5. Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011): Secrets about the Transformer’ role in human history are uncovered.
  6. Transformers: Age of Extinction (2014): The film takes place several years after the events of Dark of the Moon, with humanity wary of all Transformer.
  7. Transformer: The Last Knight (2017): The war’s consequences for Earth and the Transformer connection to the planet are explored further.

Why Does the Order Matter?

The choice between release order and chronological order depends on your viewing preference. Release order allows you to experience the films as they were originally intended, with each instalment building upon the previous one. However, this can lead to continuity issues and plot threads left unresolved until later films.

Chronological order provides a more cohesive narrative, especially for the events leading up to the large-scale conflicts in the later films. However, watching Bumblebee, set in the 1980s, after films set in the 2000s might feel jarring for some viewers.


Q: Are the Transformer movies in chronological order or release order?

There are actually two ways to experience the Transformer saga:

  • Chronological Order: This follows the story’s timeline within the movies themselves.
  • Release Order: This is the order the movies came out in theatres.

Q: So, what’s the chronological order of the Transformer movies?

  1. Bumblebee (2018): This prequel takes us back to 1987, introducing a young Charlie befriending the lovable Autobot, Bumblebee.
  2. Transformer: Rise of the Beasts (2023): This latest instalment continues the story started in Bumblebee, set in the 1990s.
  3. Transformers (2007): The Autobots and Decepticons clash for the first time on Earth, with Sam Witwicky caught in the middle.
  4. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2009): The battle intensifies as the hunt for the AllSpark continues.
  5. Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011): The Decepticons attempt to enslave humanity with the help of a hidden event in Earth’s history.
  6. Transformers: Age of Extinction (2014): A new human cast emerges as Optimus Prime and the Autobots face a new enemy, Lockdown.
  7. Transformers: The Last Knight (2017): The Transformers’ connection to Earth’s past is revealed, with shocking consequences.

Q: Why would I want to watch the Transformers movies in chronological order?

Watching chronologically can provide a smoother flow of the overall story. You’ll see character development and the history between the Autobots and Decepticons unfold organically.

Q: But isn’t it more fun to watch them in the order they came out?

There’s merit to that too! Watching in release order allows you to experience the movies as audiences did originally, with each film building anticipation for the next. The special effects and action sequences also improve over time, keeping things fresh.

Q: Ultimately, which order should I choose?

The choice is yours, Autobot recruit! If you’re new to the franchise, the chronological order might be easier to follow. If you’re a Transformers veteran and want to relive the theatrical experience, go for a release order.

Q: Which order is better: chronological or release?

This depends on your preference!

  • The chronological order allows you to follow the story’s overall timeline and see Bumblebee’s character development.
  • Release order lets you experience the movies as they were intended, with some references and callbacks to previous films.

To read more, Click here

About the author

Jyoti Kumari

Add Comment

Get in touch

Content and images available on this website is supplied by contributors. As such we do not hold or accept liability for the content, views or references used. For any complaints please contact Use of this website signifies your agreement to our terms of use. We do our best to ensure that all information on the Website is accurate. If you find any inaccurate information on the Website please us know by sending an email to and we will correct it, where we agree, as soon as practicable. We do not accept liability for any user-generated or user submitted content – if there are any copyright violations please notify us at – any media used will be removed providing proof of content ownership can be provided. For any DMCA requests under the digital millennium copyright act Please contact: with the subject DMCA Request.