Embark on a Heroic Quest: The PJ Books in Order


PJ Books Calling all young heroes and mythology enthusiasts! Dive into the thrilling world of demigods with the beloved Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. This epic saga blends Greek mythology with modern-day settings, creating a captivating adventure that has captivated millions of readers worldwide.

But where do you begin? Fret no more, for this guide will equip you with the knowledge to navigate the thrilling quests of Percy Jackson in the correct order. We’ll explore the core series, “Percy Jackson & the Olympians,” followed by some additional titles that expand the universe.

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: A Demigod’s Journey

This five-book series chronicles the adventures of Percy Jackson, a twelve-year-old boy who discovers he’s the son of Poseidon, the Greek god of the sea. Thrust into a world of mythical creatures and Olympian politics, Percy joins forces with his friends Annabeth Chase, daughter of Athena, and Grover Underwood, a satyr, to unravel mysteries and prevent catastrophic wars.

Here’s the recommended reading order for “Percy Jackson & the Olympians”:

  1. The Lightning Thief (2005): Accused of stealing Zeus’ lightning bolt, Percy embarks on a cross-country quest to retrieve it and prevent a war between the gods.
  2. The Sea of Monsters (2006): When a magical Golden Fleece is stolen from Camp Half-Blood, Percy and his friends sail the treacherous sea to retrieve it and save Grover’s satyr friend.
  3. The Titan’s Curse (2007): In a desperate attempt to rescue his friend Artemis, the goddess of the hunt, Percy and his companions face the wrath of the formidable Atlas and a resurrected Kronos, the king of the Titans.
  4. The Battle of the Labyrinth (2008): Daedalus’ deadly Labyrinth threatens to unleash an army of monsters upon the world. Percy must navigate its treacherous halls and confront the cunning Luke Castellan, a demigod with a hidden agenda.
  5. The Last Olympian (2009): The fate of Olympus hangs in the balance as the forces of Kronos and the Titans rise. Percy leads the demigods in a final epic battle to determine the destiny of the gods and humanity.

Beyond Olympus: Exploring the Wider Riordanverse

The Percy Jackson universe extends beyond the core series. Here are some additional titles you can explore after completing “Percy Jackson & the Olympians”:

  • The Heroes of Olympus (2010-2014): This five-book series introduces a new generation of demigods, including Jason Grace, son of Zeus, and Piper McLean, daughter of Aphrodite. The series delves deeper into Roman mythology and features cameos from Percy and his friends.
  • The Kane Chronicles (2010-2012): This series shifts focus to Egyptian mythology, following the adventures of Carter and Sadie Kane, descendants of a powerful pharaoh.
  • The Trials of Apollo (2016-2020): In this humorous five-book series, the arrogant god Apollo is punished by Zeus and transformed into a teenager. To regain his godly form, he must complete a series of perilous quests.
  • Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard (2015-2017): This three-book series dives into Norse mythology, following Magnus Chase, a homeless teenager who discovers he’s the son of the god Frey.
  • Percy Jackson: Chalice of the Gods (2023): This recently released standalone novel revisits Percy and his friends ten years after the events of “The Last Olympian.” They face a new threat as they attempt to prevent a war between the Greek and Roman gods.

Frequently Asked Questions about the Percy Jackson Books:

Q: In what order should I read the Percy Jackson books?

Always begin with “Percy Jackson & the Olympians” series in the order listed above. Then, you can explore the other series based on your interest in different mythologies.

Q: Are the Percy Jackson books appropriate for younger audiences?

The series is geared towards middle-grade readers (aged 8-12). However, it can be enjoyed by readers of all ages who appreciate a good adventure story with a touch of humor and mythology.

Q: Are there any graphic novel adaptations of the Percy Jackson books?

Yes, there are graphic novel adaptations for all five books in the “Percy Jackson & the Olympians” series.

Q: Will there be more Percy Jackson books in the future?

Rick Riordan has confirmed that there will be at least two more books featuring Percy Jackson after “Chalice of the Gods.”

Q. In Which Order Should I Read the PJ Books?

The core Percy Jackson series, titled Percy Jackson & the Olympians, follows a chronological storyline. Here’s the order you should conquer Mount Olympus in:

  1. The Lightning Thief (2005): Percy discovers he’s the son of Poseidon and embarks on a quest to retrieve Zeus’ stolen lightning bolt.
  2. The Sea of Monsters (2006): Percy and his friends search for the Golden Fleece to save Camp Half-Blood.
  3. The Titan’s Curse (2007): Percy joins forces with Annabeth and Grover to rescue Artemis and prevent a war between the gods.
  4. The Battle of the Labyrinth (2008): Percy and his friends navigate the dangerous Labyrinth to stop an army from reaching Olympus.
  5. The Last Olympian (2009): The ultimate showdown! Percy leads the demigods in a battle against the Titans for the fate of Mount Olympus.

Q. Is There More After The Last Olympian?

Absolutely! The Percy Jackson universe expands beyond the original series. Here’s what awaits you next:

  • The Heroes of Olympus Series: This series follows a new generation of demigods, including some familiar faces from Percy Jackson’s adventures.
  • The Kane Chronicles: Embark on Egyptian mythology with Rick Riordan’s other popular series.
  • The Trials of Apollo: Witness a grumpy Apollo turned mortal as he strives to regain his godly form.
  • The Magnus Chase Series: Travel to the world of Norse gods with another captivating series.

Q. Should I Read the PJ Books Before The Heroes of Olympus?

Yes, it’s recommended to read the PJ Books series first. The Heroes of Olympus series builds upon the events and characters introduced in the original books.

Q. What Age Group Are the Percy Jackson Books For?

The PJ Books are targeted towards middle-grade readers, roughly ages 8-12. However, their humour, action, and exploration of mythology make them enjoyable for all ages.

Q. Is There a Graphic Novel Version of the Percy Jackson Books?

There are graphic novel adaptations of all five PJ Books & the Olympians books, making them a great option for visual learners or those who prefer a different format.

Q. Ready to Start Your Percy Jackson Adventure?

Grab the first PJ Books, “The Lightning Thief,” and get ready for an unforgettable journey into the world of Greek gods and demigods. With these FAQs and the exciting series ahead, you’re well on your way to becoming a Percy Jackson expert!

To read more, Click here

About the author

Jyoti Kumari

Add Comment

Get in touch

Content and images available on this website is supplied by contributors. As such we do not hold or accept liability for the content, views or references used. For any complaints please contact babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com. Use of this website signifies your agreement to our terms of use. We do our best to ensure that all information on the Website is accurate. If you find any inaccurate information on the Website please us know by sending an email to babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com and we will correct it, where we agree, as soon as practicable. We do not accept liability for any user-generated or user submitted content – if there are any copyright violations please notify us at babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com – any media used will be removed providing proof of content ownership can be provided. For any DMCA requests under the digital millennium copyright act Please contact: babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com with the subject DMCA Request.