A Guide to the Resident Evil Films in Order


Resident Evil Films, The world of Resident Evil has captivated gamers for decades with its blend of survival horror, iconic characters, and nightmarish creatures. This terrifying universe has also found a home on the big screen, though the film series takes a path somewhat divergent from the video games. Whether you’re a die-hard fan or a curious newcomer, this guide will equip you with the knowledge to navigate the sprawling metropolis of Raccoon City and beyond in the Resident Evil films, presented in both chronological and release order.

Resident Evil Films

The Films in Release Order: A Familiar (Yet Original) Story

The Resident Evil film franchise kicked off in 2002 and spanned six films, following a mostly original narrative centered around Alice (Milla Jovovich). Here’s a breakdown of the films in the order they were released:

Resident Evil (2002): The inaugural film throws us into the heart of the Hive, a top-secret biological research facility located beneath Raccoon City. Alice, with amnesia, awakens amidst a team sent to investigate a security breach. They soon discover the facility has been overrun by mutated creatures, the product of a deadly virus. Alice must fight for survival alongside the remaining team members, including the familiar video game characters Jill Valentine and Rain Ocampo.

Resident Evil: Apocalypse (2004): Picking up shortly after the events of the first film, Alice finds Raccoon City in ruins as the T-Virus has spread. She teams up with survivors, including returning characters like Jill Valentine and newcomer Carlos Olivera, to escape the city before a military nuke wipes it off the map.

Resident Evil: Extinction (2007): Five years later, the T-Virus has ravaged the globe, transforming humans and animals into monstrous creatures. Alice, now possessing superhuman abilities, roams the wasteland searching for survivors. She encounters a new group led by Claire Redfield, another iconic video game character, and they must fight their way to a rumored safe haven in Alaska.

Resident Evil: Afterlife (3D) (2010): Alice leads a group of survivors to Los Angeles, hoping to find a ship to take them somewhere safe. However, the city is overrun by new types of infected and a monstrous version of the villainous Albert Wesker. Alice reunites with familiar faces like Claire Redfield and learns more about her own mysterious origins.

Resident Evil: Retribution (3D) (2012): Alice awakens in a heavily guarded Umbrella Corporation facility, the company behind the T-Virus. She must fight her way through a series of deadly tests and uncover the truth about her past while encountering familiar characters like Ada Wong and new faces like Leon S. Kennedy, another video game hero.

Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (2016): The final chapter sees Alice returning to Raccoon City, now a massive hive controlled by the Umbrella Corporation. With the help of Claire Redfield and other survivors, she aims to retrieve the final anti-virus and stop the corporation from unleashing a new global pandemic.

The Reboot: Welcome to Raccoon City (2021)

In 2021, the franchise received a reboot titled “Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City.” This film takes a more faithful approach to the source material, focusing on the events that unfolded in the original video games “Resident Evil” and “Resident Evil 2.” It follows a group of characters, including Chris Redfield, Jill Valentine, Leon S. Kennedy, and Claire Redfield, as they become embroiled in the outbreak of the T-Virus in Raccoon City and its surrounding areas.

Chronological Order: A Deeper Dive for Fans

While the release order offers a unique narrative, some fans prefer to experience the story closer to the video games’ timeline. Here’s a look at the films presented in a more chronological order, incorporating elements from the reboot:

Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City (2021): This serves as the starting point, delving into the fall of Raccoon City and the initial outbreak of the T-Virus.

Resident Evil (2002): The events within the Hive facility can be placed here, showcasing the origins of the virus and its devastating effects.

Resident Evil: Apocalypse (2004): This film follows directly after the first, portraying the aftermath of the Hive incident and the destruction of Raccoon City.

Resident Evil: Extinction (2007): The timeline skips ahead several years, depicting the global spread of the T-Virus and Alice’s journey through the wasteland.


How many Resident Evil movies are there?

There are currently six films in the original series, released between 2002 and 2016. Additionally, a reboot titled “Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City” hit theaters in 2021, followed by “Resident Evil: Death Island” in 2023.

Should I watch the Resident Evil movies in order of release or chronologically?

While the release order (2002-2016) works, watching them chronologically can enhance the story flow:

Resident Evil (2002)

Resident Evil: Apocalypse (2004)

Resident Evil: Extinction (2007)

Resident Evil: Afterlife (2010)

Resident Evil: Retribution (2012)

Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (2016)

Are the Resident Evil movies connected to the video games?

The original film series takes inspiration from the games but features a new main character, Alice (Milla Jovovich). The 2021 reboot aims for a closer connection to the video games, featuring characters like Claire Redfield and Jill Valentine.

Do I need to play the games to understand the movies?

No, the movies are self-contained stories. However, familiarity with the games might provide some background understanding of the world and characters.

What is the reboot series about?

The reboot series aims to be a more faithful adaptation of the games, starting with the events in Raccoon City and the outbreak at the Umbrella Corporation facilities.

Is there a Resident Evil TV series?

There have been talks of a live-action Resident Evil TV series, but as of May 2024, no confirmed project exists.

What kind of tone do the Resident Evil movies have?

The movies are primarily action horror, with a heavy emphasis on monster battles and survival.

Are the Resident Evil movies scary?

While they can be suspenseful and gory, the focus on action might make them less scary for some viewers compared to traditional horror films.

Who is the main character in the original film series?

Alice (Milla Jovovich) is the central protagonist throughout the first six films.

Where can I watch the Resident Evil movies?

Availability can vary depending on your location and streaming service, but you might find them on platforms like Netflix, Hulu, or by renting or purchasing them digitally.

To read more, Click here

About the author


Add Comment

Get in touch

Content and images available on this website is supplied by contributors. As such we do not hold or accept liability for the content, views or references used. For any complaints please contact babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com. Use of this website signifies your agreement to our terms of use. We do our best to ensure that all information on the Website is accurate. If you find any inaccurate information on the Website please us know by sending an email to babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com and we will correct it, where we agree, as soon as practicable. We do not accept liability for any user-generated or user submitted content – if there are any copyright violations please notify us at babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com – any media used will be removed providing proof of content ownership can be provided. For any DMCA requests under the digital millennium copyright act Please contact: babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com with the subject DMCA Request.