A Guide to the Thor Films in Order


Thor films in order,The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) boasts a vast and interconnected web of stories, and the Thor films are a thrilling thread within that tapestry. Following the adventures of the Asgardian prince, Thor Odinson, these movies span epic battles, Shakespearean family drama, and hilarious cosmic road trips. Whether you’re a seasoned MCU fan or just starting your heroic binge, watching the Thor films in order offers the most rewarding experience.

This guide will be your Mjolnir (Thor’s hammer) as you navigate the thunderous world of these films. We’ll explore the official release order, delve into the chronological order within the MCU timeline, and answer some burning questions fans have been asking online.

Thor films in order

Thor Films in Order of Release Date:

Thor (2011): Directed by Kenneth Branagh, this film introduces us to the arrogant Prince Thor, banished to Earth and stripped of his powers. Here, he encounters Jane Foster, an astrophysicist who becomes entangled in his world.

The Avengers (2012): While not solely a Thor film, this ensemble superhero movie sees Thor teaming up with Iron Man, Captain America, Hulk, Black Widow, and Hawkeye to fight Loki, Thor’s mischievous brother.

Thor: The Dark World (2013): Directed by Alan Taylor, this sequel throws Thor back into Asgardian politics as he confronts a dark force threatening the Nine Realms.

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015): This another Avengers film featuring Thor, who grapples with a powerful new threat alongside Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.

Thor: Ragnarok (2017): Directed by Taika Waititi, this critical and fan darling reboot injects the franchise with humor and vibrant visuals. Thor finds himself in a cosmic gladiator match and must fight alongside Loki to prevent Asgard’s destruction.

Avengers: Infinity War (2018): Thor plays a pivotal role in this epic culmination of the MCU’s Infinity Saga, facing Thanos, the Mad Titan, who seeks to wipe out half of all life.

Avengers: Endgame (2019): The remaining Avengers, including Thor, must find a way to reverse Thanos’ actions and save the universe.

Thor Films in Chronological Order within the MCU Timeline:

While the release order is the most straightforward way to watch the films, some fans prefer the chronological order within the MCU timeline. Here’s how they line up:

Captain America: The First Avenger (2011): Though not a Thor film, this movie establishes the timeline as it takes place during World War II.

Thor (2011): The first Thor movie introduces the character and his backstory.

The Avengers (2012): Thor joins forces with other heroes to fight Loki’s invasion.

Thor: The Dark World (2013): This film takes place a year after The Avengers.

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015): Thor reunites with the Avengers for another global threat.

Doctor Strange (2016): While not a Thor film, this movie introduces the concept of the Multiverse, which becomes important later in the Thor storyline.

Thor: Ragnarok (2017): This takes place two years after Avengers: Age of Ultron.

Avengers: Infinity War (2018): Thor seeks revenge on Thanos for destroying Asgard.

Avengers: Endgame (2019): The remaining Avengers, including Thor, attempt to defeat Thanos.

Release Order vs. Chronological Order: Which Should You Choose?

Both orders have their merits. The release order allows you to experience the films as they were intended, with each movie building upon the previous one. This is particularly impactful for the character development of Thor, who undergoes a significant transformation throughout the series.

The chronological order offers a more cohesive view of the MCU timeline, making connections between films clearer. However, watching Captain America: The First Avenger before Thor might feel like a slight detour at the beginning of your Thor-focused journey.

Ultimately, the choice is yours! Whichever order you choose, prepare for thrilling battles, Norse mythology, and a healthy dose of humor.


How many Thor movies are there?

As of May 2024, there are four solo Thor movies and four appearances in other Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) films.

What is the order of the Thor movies?

There are two ways to watch the Thor films:

Release Order: This follows the order the movies came out in theaters.

Thor (2011)

The Avengers (2012)

Thor: The Dark World (2013)

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Thor: Love and Thunder (2022)

Chronological Order: This arranges the films based on the story timeline within the MCU.

Thor (2011)

The Avengers (2012)

Thor: The Dark World (2013)

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014) (brief cameo)

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

Doctor Strange (2016) (brief cameo)

Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Thor: Love and Thunder (2022)

Where can I watch the Thor movies?

Most of the Thor films are available to stream on Disney+. You can also rent or purchase them on various digital platforms.

What’s the best order to watch the Thor movies?

Both orderings have their merits! Release order lets you experience the films as audiences did originally, while chronological order might give a smoother flow to Thor’s personal story arc.

Is there a post-credits scene in any of the Thor movies?

Yes, several Thor movies have post-credits scenes that tease future events in the MCU. Be sure to stick around after the credits roll!

What are some key things to remember before watching Thor: Ragnarok?

Knowing the events of Avengers: Age of Ultron is helpful, as it sets the stage for Thor’s situation at the beginning of Ragnarok.

Is Thor: Love and Thunder connected to the other Thor movies?

Yes, Love and Thunder directly follows the events of Ragnarok and Endgame.

Does Thor have a hammer in every movie?

Not quite! Thor’s iconic hammer, Mjolnir, is destroyed in Thor: Ragnarok. He wields a new weapon, Stormbreaker, in later appearances.

Who are some of the main characters in the Thor movies?

Alongside Thor, you’ll encounter Loki, his mischievous brother; Odin, their father and the Allfather of Asgard; Jane Foster, Thor’s love interest; and Valkyrie, a fierce Asgardian warrior.

What’s next for Thor in the MCU?

There hasn’t been any official announcement about a future solo Thor film, but with the ever-expanding MCU, you never know what future adventures await the God of Thunder!

To read more, Click here

About the author


Add Comment

Get in touch

Content and images available on this website is supplied by contributors. As such we do not hold or accept liability for the content, views or references used. For any complaints please contact babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com. Use of this website signifies your agreement to our terms of use. We do our best to ensure that all information on the Website is accurate. If you find any inaccurate information on the Website please us know by sending an email to babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com and we will correct it, where we agree, as soon as practicable. We do not accept liability for any user-generated or user submitted content – if there are any copyright violations please notify us at babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com – any media used will be removed providing proof of content ownership can be provided. For any DMCA requests under the digital millennium copyright act Please contact: babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com with the subject DMCA Request.