A Guide to the Wolfenstein Game Order


The Wolfenstein series is a titan in the gaming industry, boasting a rich history spanning over four decades. From its humble beginnings as a stealth-action title in the 1980s to its modern incarnation as a fast-paced, narrative-driven FPS, Wolfenstein has consistently delivered thrilling adventures against the backdrop of a terrifying alternate reality.

But with so many entries across various eras, navigating the Wolfenstein timeline can be a challenge for newcomers. This guide will equip you with the knowledge to chart your course through the resistance’s fight against the Nazi regime, whether you crave a historical tour or a streamlined story experience.

Release Date vs. Chronological Order: Picking Your Path

The Wolfenstein series can be tackled in two primary orders: release date and chronological order. Here’s a breakdown of each approach to help you decide which suits your playstyle:

  • Release Date Order: This is the simplest way to experience the series’ evolution. Starting with the earliest titles allows you to witness the significant graphical and gameplay leaps the franchise has taken over time. However, the narrative continuity might feel disjointed as some games reboot or reimagine previous events.
  • Chronological Order: This approach prioritizes a cohesive story experience. You’ll witness the rise of the Nazi war machine and its eventual downfall through the eyes of B.J. Blazkowicz and other resistance fighters. However, the earlier titles, particularly those from the 1980s, are considerably shorter and feature simpler mechanics compared to the modern entries.

Ultimately, the choice is yours! If you’re a history buff interested in seeing the franchise’s development, go for a release date. For a more streamlined narrative journey, choose chronological order.

A Legacy of Resistance: A Look at the Wolfenstein Timeline

Now, let’s delve into the specific games that make up the Wolfenstein universe, categorized by their place in the timeline:

The Early Years (1981-1992): Setting the Stage for Rebellion

  • Castle Wolfenstein (1981) & Beyond Castle Wolfenstein (1984): These two titles mark the series’ origin story. Set in World War II, they cast you as B.J. Blazkowicz, an Allied soldier tasked with escaping from Nazi-controlled castles. The gameplay is top-down, emphasizing stealth and strategy.
  • Wolfenstein 3D (1992) & Spear of Destiny (1992): These entries revolutionized the genre with their 3D graphics and fast-paced action. Blazkowicz continues his fight against the Nazis in a dystopian future where they’ve achieved global domination.

The Modern Era (2001-Onwards): A Reimagining and a New Uprising

  • Return to Castle Wolfenstein (2001): This reboot serves as a spiritual successor to the earlier titles. It reintroduces B.J. Blazkowicz in a 3D world, teaming up with allies to thwart Nazi plans for world domination.
  • Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory (2003): This multiplayer-focused spin-off takes a break from the single-player campaign, offering a class-based team shooter experience set during World War II.
  • Wolfenstein (2009): Developed by a different studio, this standalone title offers a more modern take on the Wolfenstein formula with a focus on stealth and action.

The Blazkowicz Saga (2014-2019): A Brutal and Uncompromising Fight for Freedom

This interconnected narrative arc forms the core of the modern Wolfenstein experience, following B.J. Blazkowicz’s relentless pursuit against the Nazi regime in a technologically advanced alternate reality.

  • Wolfenstein: The New Order (2014): The series’ first reboot in over a decade. Blazkowicz awakens in a world where the Nazis have won World War II and built a global empire. He embarks on a desperate mission to reignite the embers of resistance.
  • Wolfenstein: The Old Blood (2015): A prequel to The New Order, following Blazkowicz and his comrade Agent Whiskey on a mission to retrieve a powerful artifact from a Nazi stronghold.
  • Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus (2017): Picking up after The New Order, Blazkowicz leads a ragtag group of resistance fighters against the Nazi regime across occupied America.
  • Wolfenstein: Youngblood (2019): This spin-off features B.J.’s twin daughters, Jess and Soph Blazkowicz, on a mission to find their missing father in a Nazi-controlled Paris.


Q. Do I have to play the Wolfenstein games in order?

Not necessarily! The series can be broadly split into two eras: the older retro titles (1980s-2000s) and the new wave (2009 onwards). The new wave features a more connected storyline, but you can still jump in and enjoy the action without playing everything beforehand.

Q. What’s the difference between the old and new Wolfenstein games?

The older titles, like Castle Wolfenstein (1981) and Wolfenstein 3D (1992), are classic fast-paced shooters with simpler narratives. The new wave, starting with Wolfenstein (2009) and continuing with Wolfenstein: The New Order (2014), features more cinematic storytelling and character development alongside the intense gunfights.

Q. How can I play the Wolfenstein games in chronological order?

Here’s the order for the main story games:

  1. Wolfensteiin: The Old Blood (2015): This prequel to The New Order acts as a good jumping-in point, introducing key characters and events.
  2. Wolfensteiin: The New Order (2014): BJ Blazkowicz awakens in a world dominated by the Nazis. Time to fight back!
  3. Wolfensteiin II: The New Colossus (2017): Blazkowicz and his crew continue their resistance against the Nazi regime.
  4. Wolfensteiin: Youngblood (2019): BJ’s daughters, Jess and Soph Blazkowicz take centre stage in this standalone spin-off.

Q. Should I play the games in release order?

Playing by release order (starting with Castle Wolfensteiin) can be interesting to see the evolution of the series. However, the older games might feel dated compared to the newer ones.

Q. What about the other Wolfenstein’s games?

There are several spin-offs and VR titles in the series. These aren’t essential for the main story but can offer additional fun, like the multiplayer action of Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory (2003) or the VR horror of Wolfenstein: Cyberpilot (2019).

Q. I want to play the latest Wolfenstein game first. Where do I start?

Wolfensteiin: Youngblood (2019) is a good starting point if you want a modern experience. However, it does reference events from previous games.

Ultimately, the choice is yours!

Do you crave a historical tour through the franchise or a jump straight into the latest Nazi-killing action? No matter your preference, there’s a Wolfensteiin game waiting to unleash your inner resistance fighter.

To read more, Click here

About the author

Jyoti Kumari

Add Comment

Get in touch

Content and images available on this website is supplied by contributors. As such we do not hold or accept liability for the content, views or references used. For any complaints please contact babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com. Use of this website signifies your agreement to our terms of use. We do our best to ensure that all information on the Website is accurate. If you find any inaccurate information on the Website please us know by sending an email to babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com and we will correct it, where we agree, as soon as practicable. We do not accept liability for any user-generated or user submitted content – if there are any copyright violations please notify us at babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com – any media used will be removed providing proof of content ownership can be provided. For any DMCA requests under the digital millennium copyright act Please contact: babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com with the subject DMCA Request.